What are the four major tournaments in golf?

  • 4 min read

What are the four major tournaments in golf?

Golf is a sport that is enjoyed by millions of people all over the world. While it is often thought of as a game for the wealthy, there are many different tournaments that take place all over the globe, but four are considered to be the "major" tournaments. In this blog post, we will discuss these tournaments and their history.

Let's Get Started

What are the four major tournaments in golf?

1. Masters Tournament

Masters Tournament

The Masters Tournament is one of the four major golf tournaments. It is held annually at the Augusta National Golf Club in Georgia, United States. Clifford Roberts and Bobby Jones founded the tournament. It is considered to be one of the most prestigious events in golf.

The tournament was first played 88 years ago in 1934 on what is now known as "The Old Course at Augusta National." It can be considered one of golf's most prestigious events because it offers an opportunity for players from all over the world to compete against each other while also providing some entertainment value alongside these highly skilled athletes - especially when you're able to see them strike beautifully crafted balls into holes made specifically large enough only their size may allow passage!

The Masters is played over a period of four days, usually in the first full week of April. There is a field of invitees, which is limited to 90 players. The tournament winner receives a green jacket, which they are required to return to the club one year after their victory.

The Masters has the largest prize money pool of any golf tournament, with a total of $15 million up for grabs in 2022. In addition, the winner of the tournament receives $2,700,000.


2. U.S. Open

US Open Druids

The U.S. Open is the second major golf tournament of the year. This event is conducted by the United States Golf Association (USGA), and takes place at various locations around the country. The first U.S. Open was held in 1895 at the Newport Country Club in Rhode Island. The winner of this event receives the coveted U.S. Open Championship trophy, also known as the "Havemeyer Trophy.".

The U.S. Open is played over a period of four days, and it's played over four days with a field limited to 156 players who battle for $17 million (as of 2022). The winner will receive 3,150,000 USD prize money!

Qualifying for the U.S. Open is a challenging process. There are multiple stages of qualifying, which take place at different courses around the country. As a result, only the top players in the world can make it into the field for this prestigious event.


3. The Open Championship (British Open)

Druids Banner The Open Championship -British Open

The third major tournament is The Open Championship or The British Open Championship. This event is conducted by The R&A (formerly known as the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews), which takes place at various locations in the United Kingdom. The first Open Championship was held in 1860 at the Prestwick Golf Club in Ayrshire, Scotland, and was initially called The Open Championship. It was renamed the British Open Championship in 1873. The tournament is open to any professional golfer or amateur with a valid handicap.

Players compete for a coveted gold trophy known as the Claret Jug. The winner of the tournament also receives a Gold Medal. In addition to prize money, the winner also receives the "Open Exemption," which exempts him from qualifying for the next ten Open Championships.

The format of the tournament is four rounds of stroke play. The field is limited to 156 players, with the winner being the player with the lowest score over the four rounds.

The tournament is usually held in July and is rotated between different golf courses in the United Kingdom. Some of the most famous courses hosted by The Open Championship are St Andrews, Carnoustie, Royal Birkdale, and Royal Troon.

The prize money for The Open Championship is $14 million (as of 2022). The winner will receive $2,500,000!


4. PGA Championship

Druids PGA Championship Banner

The fourth and final major tournament is the PGA Championship. This event is conducted by the Professional Golfers' Association of America (PGA of America), which takes place in various locations around the United States. The first PGA Championship was held in 1916 at the Siwanoy Country Club in New York. The winner of this event receives the coveted Wanamaker Trophy.

The PGA Championship is conducted over four days, and the winner is determined by the lowest score over 72 holes of play, and a winner will walk away with nearly three million dollars! A playoff is conducted to determine the winner if there is a tie. The total prize money is $15 million (as of 2022)

The PGA Championship is one of the most prestigious golf tournaments in the world, and it has been won by some of the greatest golfers of all time. The most notable winners include Tiger Woods, Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, and Gary Player.

The PGA Championship is a significant tournament that any professional golfer would love to win. It is a test of one's abilities and a great way to measure oneself against the best in the world. So, if you are looking to watch some great golf, then be sure to tune into the PGA Championship. You will not be disappointed.



So, those are the four major golf tournaments that take place annually all over the world. Each event has its unique history and tradition. They are all conducted by different organizations, and each has their special trophy the winner receives. These events are some of the most watched sporting events in the world, attracting the best golfers from all over the planet. If you are a golf fan, check out one or more of these remarkable events. You will not be disappointed. Thanks for reading! I hope you found this article informative. Until next time, happy golfing!